Let's talk about languages because that is always fun!

I have a habit to learn (at least try to) some basic things in local language when I'm abroad. Mostly just because I want to be polite and it never hurt to know how to say "thank you" in many ways.

But usually I also learn something random what I would probably never need to say in other meaning than to confuse locals or to brag about awesome (not really) language skills. Now, when living in Slovakia, I heard lot of Slovak around and also Polish (thanks to my lovely flatmates!) so I pick up few things.

And so I proudly present you a list of some random phrases and words I had learn so far:

Slovak:

  • Potrebujem mlieko ("I need milk")
  • čokoľvek ("Whatever")
  • Dobre, dobre, ano ("Fine, fine, yes", basically this is the answer for everything)

Polish:

  • Jestem kochana ("I'm loved")
  • Potrzebuję mleka ("I need milk", the milk is really important thing!)
     

German

  • Alles kaputt ("Everything is broken")
  • Was ist das? ("what is that?" It's always smart to question everything!)
  • Ich habe eine banana ("I have a banana" works greatly in case you have a banana)
  • Nein, nein, NEIN! ("no, no, NO!" note that use of correct voice is really important with this one)
  • Mein Freund ist dummkopf ("my friend is an idiot" Very useful if the friend didn't care about "nein, nein, nein!" -part.)
  • Nie wieder ("Never again", you can say this to your friend after he do something stupid and you told him not to.)

Dutch

  • Oppassen de het fiets ("beware the bicycle", very, very, very useful phrase. Really.)
  • Dat is lekker ("That's good")
  • Flinke ("Great")
  • Fuja* (sadly I don't know how to write this and it's probably somekind of Flamish dialect, but I think it means "bad". At least people keep saying it when their dogs did something bad.)

Hungarian

  • Nem tudom ("I don't know")
  • Nem értem ("I don't understand")

Swedish

  • Vi ska lida ("We will suffer", don't ask, I had hard day with Swedish class)
  • Jag behöva mjölk nu ( "I need milk now", another hard day with Swedish class)

Estonian

  • Ma ei ole vaimu ("I'm not a ghost" ...yeah, I haven't yet been in situation when I had needed this)

Danish

  • Rødgrød med fløde (Kind of Danish dessert. I don't know how to prononauce it correctly but if you ever meet a Dane, she or he will make you to try to say this!)

Italian

  • Io no parlo italiano (I was told that this means "I don't speak italian" but I'm starting to suspect that it actually means something like "please, speak Italian louder" because that is the reaction I usually get whenever I say this.)

If somebody is now worried about my communication and languages skills... Don't worry. I can actually say also smart things. Sometimes. I think.

And sorry about possible writing/grammar mistakes! Most of this I have only learnt to say, not to write. I never intend to insult anybody so take it as a joke it was meant to be and teach me another fun phrase!